The first thing you should do if you were charged with DUI is to reach out to the Monckton, Hembree & Humphries Law Firm, P.A.
Swift action by our attorneys can make a difference in the outcome of your case. The possible penalties for a conviction, even a first offense, are harsh. We work diligently to have charges dismissed whenever possible or to have the penalties reduced when dismissal is simply not an option.
It is important to understand that in South Carolina a DUI conviction carries serious penalties, even for a first offense. If convicted of drunk driving for the first time, you face a six-month driver's license suspension and you will need to complete an alcohol treatment program, at your expense. These programs can cost as much as $2,500.
A jail sentence and heavy fines are also possible for a first DUI/DWUAC conviction. The specific punishments vary according to blood alcohol content (BAC):
In addition to these penalties, your auto insurance rates are likely to rise, and you will have a DUI conviction on your criminal record, which could come back to haunt you many years from now.
If you are convicted of drunk driving in South Carolina more than once in a 10-year period, your situation is even more serious:
Second offense in 10 years: up to $5,100 in fines; up to one year in jail; driver's license suspension of one year; ignition interlock device installed for two years; alcohol treatment program
Third offense in 10 years: up to $6,300 in fines; up to three years in jail; driver's license suspension of two years; ignition interlock device installed for three years; alcohol treatment program
Do not assume that you cannot fight drunken driving charges. Many cases are surprisingly weak and can be successfully defended by a skilled attorney. Our attorneys understand how to evaluate the results of field sobriety tests, breath tests and the legality of the traffic stop. If there were errors, then you have a valid defense. Each of our attorneys has more than 15 years of experience in criminal defense work, and you can rely on us to stand up and protect your rights to the fullest possible extent.
Do not hesitate to talk to an attorney at the Monckton, Hembree & Humphries Law Firm, if you are charged with drunk driving near Myrtle Beach. Call (843) 946-6556 or you can also email us. We serve clients from throughout the region, including Horry County. Criminal defense lawyers and personal injury attorneys at our law firm offer free consultations.